Verbindungsfehler Exhibit Design USA
AKTIV Kommunikations-Marketing GmbH
AKTIV Kommunikations-Marketing GmbH
AKTIV > Services > Exhibit Design > Trade shows in the U.S.

Booth Construction in North America

„Trade Shows“ and „Conventions“ in the U.S. came about in a much different manner than those in Europe and have developed differently as well. Whereas especially in Germany, trade shows have developed through a long transition of the markets, in North America, professional conferences sponsored by the trade associations formed the basis. Over time, small accompanying exhibitions grew into important, major trade shows - a process that is still ongoing.

The range of trade shows is enormous - according to various estimates, there are between 5,000 and 13,000 trade shows and exhibitions per year in the U.S. And yet, the actual net exhibition space is extremely small - some can be as small as 500 square meters (app. 5,400 square feet). But for certain specialized topics, such a small event is sufficient to enter the market. As a result, the exhibitor must accept the fact that in the U.S. often times the small to middle-sized trade shows are the shows that will attract an important target group bringing with it the possibility of success.

In some areas there is also a division between the East and West Coasts. And some events change their location every year.

But nothing is more constant than change itself. This applies especially to trade shows in the U.S. Trade shows that in the past have been purely “Pipe and Drape“ events, can grow into large important industry gatherings in just a few years - others, however, may lose their importance, perhaps even disappear altogether.

The growth of certain trade shows in the U.S. is a direct result of increased international interest bringing with it a high degree of foreign participation - companies that through their presence hope to substantially improve their image - a goal that can be reached if optimally implemented.

In doing so, it is important when planning for a trade show booth in the U.S. to consider certain particularities and to include them in the budget.

The trade show booth rental fee is just one factor. How high the amount is often determined by the importance of the trade show. It is also necessary to know the manner in which the spaces will be assigned and how they are allocated. Generally, during the planning stage there is a floor plan where all trade show spaces are outlined including their measurements. These are specifically chosen - whereby, the procedure can vary from show to show. In many cases, for example, exhibitors who have already participated in past events may have staggered privileges - determined by the number of past shows and/or the size of the rented spaces. It is also possible that especially sought after spaces may only be offered with an additional premium surcharge or may be reserved for only those exhibitors willing to purchase a sponsor package. Regardless, one thing is for sure - the sooner you book, the better.

A trade-show booth in the U.S. (with a few exceptions) can generally be booked in increments of 10 x 10 feet (10 feet = approx. 3.05 meters). The 10 x 10 version being the smallest. Booths with a maximum depth of 10 feet are generally limited to an overall height of 8 feet (approx. 2.44 meters). Only when booking a "Peninsula" or "Island" starting at 20 x 20 feet is it possible to have flexibility of design in the overall height of the booth. Special rules are applied to "Perimeter Booths" - booths located on the sides of the hall.

The fact that all measurements are in feet and inches is quite different compared to most of the rest of the world - which can quickly become a problem if one wants to simply send an existing stand to a U.S. trade show.

It is relatively easy to calculate when assuming that 10 feet are approximately 3 meters - in many instances, however, major mistakes can be made. Forty feet for example, are not 12, but 12.192 meters - almost 20 centimeters more. A carpet brought from Europe, measuring 4 meters in width, will not reach the edge of the booth. It is very important, however, that the carpeting reach the edge of the booth as the organizers often line the aisles with their own carpeting right up to the booth's edge - a gap does not look very nice and in the U.S. may lead to an insurance problem.

An additional difficulty in the U.S. is that the electric cables needed for the booth are almost always hidden under the carpeting. Therefore an additional padding is required to be installed underneath the carpet in order to even out the surface. Not every carpet is compatible. A raised floor is also not a good idea as people may trip. If an accident were to occur, this can lead to extremely high insurance claims.

There is an additional, important difference to be noted when discussing electrical requirements: the normal voltage in the U.S. is 110 volts at 60 Hz - compared to Europe with 220 volts at 50 Hz. It is, therefore, not possible to run certain devices without a transformer. Differences also exist with extension cords, cable cross-sections, distribution and performance calculations.

Furthermore, the regulations for a trade show booth in the U.S. can differ considerably from one convention center to another. These are often influenced by the unions, which in some regions are very large. Thus in many trade show contracts it is clearly specified which occupational group is to be employed for a particular job and when overtime rates are to be paid.

Two other key points cannot be left out as they differ greatly when compared to European locations: drayage and catering.

Drayage is the handling and transport of materials. The fees are calculated using CWT (price per 100 lbs). They include the offloading of the container, the transport from the loading ramp to the trade show booth, the storage of the empties during the event, return to the booth and later the final loading. Often times the fees will also include guidance systems and aisle carpets. As a result, it is sometimes the case that minimum fees are to be paid. Unfortunately, due to the highly mechanical loads, it is impossible to do without sturdy crates when transporting the products - but, if a "lighter" booth construction is employed, costs can be reduced substantially. Additionally, it is important that the shipment not consist of many single deliveries as each delivery is calculated anew and rounded to the next CWT unit.

In regard to catering the booth, there are generally very strict rules to be followed. There is normally only one licensee from whom all catering needs must be ordered. A gray zone exists when providing staff with coffee, soft drinks and snacks. Alcohol at the booth can only be served by a licensed barkeeper. And yet, one is generally not limited to only the menu offerings of the licensee - if a unique theme or promotion is desired, and the supplier cannot provide the necessary products, then it is also possible to have them delivered from outside. The licensee caterer, however, must perform the serving and distribution of any food or drink at the booth. He will also be responsible for the final billing. Therefore, it is very important that all catering for customers is meticulously planned and coordinated in advance.

Some exhibitors find themselves in despair when they see the Exhibitor Manuals - sometimes a few hundred pages thick with deadlines, target days in addition to countless order forms for everything from material handling, the electrician, the carpenter and the rigger to card retrieval, EAC or the requested insurance policy and payment form - to include a credit card guarantee which can reach some rather high sums.

And this is not our only strength. As a service provider with over 30 years of trade show and trade show stand experience in the U.S., we have all planning and implementation requirements firmly in our grasp. This does not necessarily mean that trade show participation will be considerably less expensive - but safer and more efficient. It is, therefore, extremely important for us to discuss the objectives and wishes with the customer in a timely manner - in this way we can provide an optimally prepared trade show stand for any venue where the event is taking place.

Pipe & Drape - the name stems from the fact that smaller trade show booths in the U.S. are often divided by cloth drapes, which hang from a piping system that has been installed by the organizer. When this is the case, many exhibitors simply bring a foldaway display system - and the booth is finished.

Las Vegas • not only our trade show venue in the U.S.

Las Vegas is not home to the largest exhibition center in the U.S. - but three of its exhibition centers are included in the U.S. Top 15 list and together account for a gross hall space of over 400,000 square meters (4,3 million square feet). Approximately 20 smaller sites with up to 10,000 square meters (approx. 107,500 square feet) of hall space each and hotels are also available - most recently supplemented by the new City Center and the Cosmopolitan. As a result, the city has the largest and most flexible exhibition space on offer in the United States - for any event. This, combined with an immense hotel capacity, forms the basis for the innumerable conventions and trade shows that take place here. It is also the reason why Las Vegas has such a high concentration of the largest trade shows.

We have been at home in these exhibition centers for over 30 years. With our trade show warehouse and workshop in Las Vegas and our local partners, we know and understand how to get the job accomplished - but not only here. From our office in Las Vegas we realize any trade show booth throughout North America - from the West Coast to the East Coast - from Canada to Mexico.

Talk to us. We look forward to getting AKTIV for you.

 

List of the 20 largest exhibition centers in the U.S.

McCormick Place

 

Chicago, IL

 

250.840 sqm

Orange County Convention Center

 

Orlando, FL

 

235.930 sqm

Las Vegas Convention Center

 

Las Vegas, NV

 

200.410 sqm

Georgia World Congress Center

 

Atlanta, GA

 

155.480 sqm

New Orleans Morial Convention Center

 

New Orleans, LA

 

140.170 sqm

Sands Expo and Convention Center

 

Las Vegas, NV

 

123.260 sqm

Dallas Convention Center

 

Dallas / Ft. Worth, TX

 

103.710 sqm

The Moscone Center

 

San Francisco, CA

 

96.430 sqm

Phoenix Convention Center

 

Phoenix, AZ

 

95.605 sqm

George R. Brown Convention Center

 

Houston, TX

 

93.550 sqm

Mandalay Bay Convention Center

 

Las Vegas, NV

 

86.870 sqm

Donald E. Stephens Convention Center

 

Rosemont, IL

 

81.660 sqm

Cobo Conference and Exhibition Center

 

MI - Detroit

 

80.455 sqm

Jacob K. Javits Convention Center

 

New York, NY

 

78.480 sqm

Anaheim Convention Center

 

Anaheim, CA

 

75.715 sqm

San Diego Convention Center

 

San Diego, CA

 

75.625 sqm

The Colorado Convention Center

 

Denver, CO

 

72.965 sqm

America's Center

 

St. Louis, MO

 

72.580 sqm

Los Angeles Convention Center

 

Los Angeles, CA

 

66.890 sqm

Boston Convention & Exhibition Center

 

Boston, MA

 

66.220 sqm

*Gross hall space according to data published in Destination Guide, Tradeshow Week and the individual Convention Center websites - calculated from square feet to square meters and rounded.

For additional editorial information and contributions on many trade show events, please visit our media center.

Verbindungsfehler Messebau USA
AKTIV Kommunikations-Marketing GmbH
AKTIV Kommunikations-Marketing GmbH
AKTIV > Leistungen > Messebau > Messebau USA

Messebau in Nordamerika

"Trade-Shows" und "Conventions" in den USA haben einen anderen Ursprung und eine andere Entwicklung als in Europa. Während sich vor allem in Deutschland Messen in einem langen Wandel aus Märkten entwickelt haben, sind es in Nordamerika die Fachkonferenzen von Handelsverbänden, die die Grundlage bildeten. So entwickelten sich aus kleinen, begleitenden Ausstellungen wichtige Messen, deren Prozess noch lange nicht abgeschlossen ist.

Die Bandbreite des Messeangebotes ist enorm - nach unterschiedlichen Angaben werden zwischen 5.000 und 13.000 Messen und Ausstellungen jährlich in den USA veranstaltet. Dabei sind die Nettoausstellungsflächen teilweise extrem gering - durchaus auch unter 500 qm. Aber für bestimmte Fachthemen kann eine kleine Veranstaltung für den Markteintritt bereits reichen. Folglich muss sich der Aussteller darauf einstellen, dass eben häufig kleine bis mittlere Messen in den USA, eine wichtige Zielgruppe ansprechen und so den entsprechenden Erfolg bringen können.

In manchen Bereichen gibt es ebenfalls eine Aufteilung zwischen Ost- und Westküste. Und andere Veranstaltungen wechseln jährlich den Ort.

Doch nichts ist beständiger als der Wandel selbst. Das gilt in besonderem Maße für Messen in den USA. Trade Shows, die in der Vergangenheit als reine Pipe & Drape* Veranstaltungen galten, können in nur wenigen Jahren zu wichtigen und großen Branchentreffs heranwachsen - andere an Bedeutung verlieren oder gänzlich vom Messemarkt verschwinden.

Das Wachstum bestimmter Messen in den USA, liegt meist an einem gestiegenen, internationalen Interesse und somit einem hohen Anteil ausländischer Beteiligungen - die mit ihrem Auftritt auch einen nennenswerten Imagezuwachs erzielen wollen - und bei optimaler Umsetzung auch erreichen können.

Dabei gilt es bei der Planung von einem Messestand in den USA schon im Vorfeld einige Besonderheiten zu beachten und im Budget zu berücksichtigen.

Der reine Mietpreis des Messestandes ist dabei nur ein Faktor. Dieser hängt in der Höhe ganz entscheidend von der Bedeutung der Messe ab. Wichtig zu wissen ist die Art der Vergabe und die Platzierung der Fläche. Im Regelfall gibt es bereits im Planungsstadium einen Floorplan, einen Grundriss auf dem alle Messestandflächen und -größen eingezeichnet sind. Diese werden gezielt ausgewählt - wobei es auch hier unterschiedlichste Verfahren gibt. In vielen Fällen haben Aussteller, die sich bereits auf früheren Veranstaltungen beteiligt haben gestaffelte Vorrechte - nach Anzahl der Beteiligungen aber auch nach der Größe der gebuchten Flächen. Es kommt auch vor, dass besonders beliebte Messestandflächen mit sogenannten Premium-Aufschlägen angeboten werden oder nur den Kunden vorbehalten sind, die auch bereit sind ein zusätzliches Sponsorenpaket zu erwerben. Eines gilt aber nahezu immer - je früher man bucht, desto besser.

Ein Messestand in den USA ist, bis auf wenige Ausnahmen, immer im 10 x 10 Fuß-Raster (10 Fuß = ca. 3,05 Meter) zu buchen. Dies stellt gleichzeitig die kleinste Einheit dar. Bei Ständen mit einer maximalen Tiefe von 10 Fuß ist die Bauhöhe auf meist 8 Fuß (ca. 2,44 Meter) beschränkt. Erst bei einem Peninsula oder Island (Kopf- bzw. Insel-Stand) ab 20 x 20 Fuß ist eine flexible Gestaltung in die Höhe möglich. Sonderregeln gibt es teilweise für Perimeter Booths - das sind Messestände am Hallenrand.

In der Tatsache, dass alle Maße in Fuß und Inch gerechnet werden liegt ein wesentlicher Unterschied zum größten Teil der restlichen Welt - der ganz schnell Auswirkungen hat, wenn man einfach einen vorhandenen Messestand in die USA schicken will.

Zwar rechnet es sich relativ leicht, wenn man davon ausgeht, dass 10 Fuß ungefähr 3 Meter sind - aber im Vielfachen passieren dabei schnell gravierendere Fehler. So sind 40 Fuß eben nicht 12 - sondern 12,192 Meter. Also fast 20 cm mehr. Ein mitgebrachter Teppich mit Bahnenbreite 4 Meter reicht somit nicht bis zur Standkante. Dort sollte er aber liegen, denn die Veranstalter lassen ihrerseits Teppiche in den Gängen bis zur Standkante legen und ein Spalt ist nicht nur unschön - sondern kann in den USA durchaus auch zu einem Versicherungsproblem werden.

Erschwerend kommt hinzu, dass beim Messestand in den USA die Stromverkabelung nahezu ausschließlich unterhalb des Teppichs erfolgt, weshalb ein sogenanntes Padding unter dem Teppich zum Einsatz kommt, um die Kabelstärke etwas auszugleichen. Nicht jeder Teppich ist dazu aber geeignet. Ein Messe-Doppelboden empfiehlt sich ebenfalls nicht, da Stolperfallen entstehen könnten und dies bei einem Unfall zu extrem hohen Schadensersatzforderungen führen kann.

Beim Thema Strom gibt es noch einen weiteren, ganz wesentlichen Unterschied: Die normale Spannung in den USA beträgt 110 Volt bei 60 Hz - Europa im Vergleich 220 Volt und 50 Hz. So ist es nicht ohne weiteres möglich Geräte ohne Transformator zu betreiben. Aber auch Verlängerungen, notwendige Leitungsquerschnitte, Verteilungen und Leistungsberechnungen stellen sich einfach anders dar.

Weiterhin unterscheiden sich viele Bestimmungen für einen Messestand in den USA innerhalb der Messezentren erheblich. Dazu kommt der Einfluss der "Unions" - Gewerkschaften, der an manchen Orten sehr groß ist. So regeln in den meisten Messegeländen Verträge, welche Berufsgruppe für welche Arbeit einzusetzen ist und wann Überstundentarife zu entrichten sind.

Zwei Punkte dürfen nicht dabei unerwähnt bleiben, die sich noch stark, gerade von den vielen europäischen Standorten, unterscheiden: Drayage und Catering.

Unter Drayage ist das Material Handling zu verstehen. Die Kosten werden nach CWT (Preis pro 100 lbs) abgerechnet. Sie beinhalten das Abladen der Kisten, den Transport von der Laderampe bis zum Messestand, die Einlagerung des Leergutes während der Veranstaltung sowie das Zurückbringen danach und die spätere Verladung. Häufig sind in diesen Kosten auch die Wegleitsysteme sowie die Gangteppiche enthalten. Aufgrund dessen sind teilweise Minimumwerte zu entrichten. Leider kann aufgrund der hohen mechanischen Belastung nicht auf stabile Kisten für die Ware verzichtet werden - aber durch einen "leichten" Standbau können einige Kosten gespart werden. Wichtig ist zudem, die Anlieferung nicht mit vielen Einzellieferungen zu machen, denn die Abrechnung wird je Vorgang immer auf das nächste CWT aufgerundet.

Beim Catering auf dem Messestand gelten im Regelfall strenge Regeln. Es gibt meist nur einen Lizenznehmer, über den alles was am Stand ausgegeben wird besorgt werden muss. Eine weiche Grenze stellt die Versorgung der Mitarbeiter mit Kaffee, Softdrinks und Fertigsnacks dar. Alkohol am Stand darf nur von lizenzierten Barkeepern ausgeschenkt werden. Trotzdem ist man im Regelfall nicht nur auf das Menüangebot des Lizenznehmers beschränkt - sind individuelle Themen-Aktionen gewünscht und der Anbieter selbst kann die Ware nicht beschaffen, besteht die Möglichkeit diese zuzuliefern. Die Ausgabe und Verteilung am Messestand muss dennoch über den Caterer erfolgen und wird von diesem abgerechnet. Deshalb muss jede Bewirtung von Kunden im Vorfeld exakt geplant und abgestimmt werden.

Manch Aussteller verzweifelt bereits bei dem häufig, mehrere hundert Seiten, starken Exhibitor Manual mit Deadlines, Target Days, sowie den unzähligen Order Forms u.a. für Material Handling, Electrician, Carpenter, Rigger, Card Retrieval, EAC oder der geforderten Versicherungspolice und dem Payment Form - mit einer Kreditkartendeckung für teils hohe Summen.

Nicht nur hier liegt eine unserer Stärken. Als Dienstleister mit über 30-jähriger Erfahrung mit Messen und Messeständen in den USA haben wir die Planung und Durchführung fest im Griff. Damit wird eine Messebeteiligung nicht zwangsläufig deutlich günstiger - aber sicherer und effizienter. Es ist uns deshalb extrem wichtig die Zielsetzungen und Wünsche mit dem Kunden rechtzeitig durchzusprechen - so können wir an jedem Messeplatz einen optimal vorbereiteten Messestand für die Veranstaltung zur Verfügung stellen.

* Pipe & Drape - diese Bezeichnung ist der Tatsache geschuldet, dass bei kleinen Messeständen in den USA die Veranstalter zwischen den Reihenständen ein Rohrsystem aufstellen, welches mit Vorhängen die Flächen untereinander abtrennt. Viele Anbieter kommen dann nur mit einem Faltdisplay - und der Messestand ist fertig.

Las Vegas • nicht nur unser Messestandort in den USA

Las Vegas hat zwar nicht das größte Messezentrum der USA - aber dafür sind gleich 3 davon unter den Top 15 der USA und bieten zusammen eine Bruttohallenfläche von deutlich über 400.000 Qudratmetern. Dazu kommen rund 20 weitere kleinere Gelände mit Hallenkapazitäten bis zu 10.000 qm und Hotelangebote - gerade erst ergänzt durch das neue City Center und das Cosmopolitan. Die Stadt hat damit das größte und flexibelste Flächenangebot in den USA - für jegliche Veranstaltung. Verbunden mit der gebotenen Hotelkapazität bildet dies die Basis für die unzähligen Conventions und Trade Shows, die hier stattfinden und ist gleichzeitig auch der Grund für die Konzentration der größten Messen in Las Vegas.

Mit unserem Messelager Las Vegas sowie der Werkstatt und lokalen Partnern sind wir in diesen Messezentren zuhause und kennen, nicht nur hier, alle lokalen Gegebenheiten seit über 30 Jahren. Denn von hier aus organisieren wir aber auch jede andere Beteiligung in Nordamerika - von der Westküste bis zur Ostküste - von Kanada bis Mexiko.

Sprechen Sie mit uns. Wir werden gerne für Sie AKTIV.

 

Liste der 20 größten Messegelände in den USA*

McCormick Place

 

Chicago, IL

 

250.840 qm

Orange County Convention Center

 

Orlando, FL

 

235.930 qm

Las Vegas Convention Center

 

Las Vegas, NV

 

200.410 qm

Georgia World Congress Center

 

Atlanta, GA

 

155.480 qm

New Orleans Morial Convention Center

 

New Orleans, LA

 

140.170 qm

Sands Expo and Convention Center

 

Las Vegas, NV

 

123.260 qm

Dallas Convention Center

 

Dallas / Ft. Worth, TX

 

103.710 qm

The Moscone Center

 

San Francisco, CA

 

96.430 qm

Phoenix Convention Center

 

Phoenix, AZ

 

95.605 qm

George R. Brown Convention Center

 

Houston, TX

 

93.550 qm

Mandalay Bay Convention Center

 

Las Vegas, NV

 

86.870 qm

Donald E. Stephens Convention Center

 

Rosemont, IL

 

81.660 qm

Cobo Conference and Exhibition Center

 

MI - Detroit

 

80.455 qm

Jacob K. Javits Convention Center

 

New York, NY

 

78.480 qm

Anaheim Convention Center

 

Anaheim, CA

 

75.715 qm

San Diego Convention Center

 

San Diego, CA

 

75.625 qm

The Colorado Convention Center

 

Denver, CO

 

72.965 qm

America's Center

 

St. Louis, MO

 

72.580 qm

Los Angeles Convention Center

 

Los Angeles, CA

 

66.890 qm

Boston Convention & Exhibition Center

 

Boston, MA

 

66.220 qm

*Bruttohallenfläche nach Angabe in Destination Guide, Tradeshow Week sowie Websites der einzelnen Convention Center - umgerechnet von Squarefeet auf Quadratmeter und gerundet.

Zu vielen Messeveranstaltungen finden Sie redaktionelle Informationen und Beiträge in unserer Mediathek.